22 attorneys general file petition to block FCC decision repealing net neutrality

Internet Law

Twenty-one states and the District of Columbia have taken the first step in a bid to block the repeal of net neutrality rules.

The 22 jurisdictions filed a petition for review on Tuesday in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, according to a press release from New York Attorney General Eric Schneiderman.

The petition argues the Federal Communications Commission decision to eliminate net neutrality was arbitrary and capricious, in conflict with notice and rule-making requirements, and unconstitutional.

Schneiderman contends that the FCC failed to justify its departure from policy defending net neutrality, and its decision improperly pre-empted state and local laws.

The jurisdictions that joined to file the petition are New York, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and the District of Columbia.

Go to Source